Dear ABOL community, dear colleagues,

Knowledge about biodiversity is more important than ever, not only in the scientific community, but also among the general public. The Days of Biodiversity have been significantly  contributing to our knowledge on biodiversity for many years. ABOL will this year again participate in Days of Biodiversity with ABOL BioBlitz actions in order to make the knowledge, provided by experts, available for the society. As last year, experts are invited to provide samples of determined organisms for DNA barcoding. Last year we were able to sample around 1.900 animals in this way and substantially contributed to Austrian reference data. More information and dates can be found -> here. This page is continuously updated.

In addition, we would like to draw your attention to the City Nature Challenge 2020, in which Austria will take part for the first time in Vienna, Graz and Wachau. The challenge takes place from 24th to 27th April. The observation data of plants, animals and fungi are recorded via the iNaturalist platform. Anyone can use e.g. cell phones to photograph organisms and upload photos, which are then determined by experts. The aim of the City Nature Challenge is to document the biodiversity in cities in a global competition. An exact knowledge of the species is not necessary, because the observations are, as far as possible, determined via crowdsourcing (i.e. from other iNaturalist users). Everyone can participate as a notifier and as a determining expert. This challenge is also well suited as a school project.

To this end, Lorin Timaeus holds lectures and a workshop for teachers. All dates can be found at https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/city-nature-challenge-2020-wien/journal; Registration until March 11th at cncwien@gmail.com. Instructions for the iNaturalist app can be found at https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/city-nature-challenge-2020-wien?tab=about

Liebe ABOL-Community und Interessierte,

das Wissen über Biodiversität, nicht nur im wissenschaftlichen Umfeld, sondern auch in der Bevölkerung, ist wichtiger denn je. Seit vielen Jahren leisten hier die Tage der Artenvielfalt einen wichtigen Beitrag. Um dieses Wissen, das hier von ExpertInnen zur Verfügung gestellt wird, auch für genetische Analysen nutzen zu können, wird ABOL auch heuer wieder an den Tagen der Artenvielfalt mit ABOL-BioBlitzen teilnehmen. ExpertInnen sind abermals aufgerufen, die von Ihnen gesammelten und bestimmten Organismen für DNA-Barcoding zu beproben. Letztes Jahr konnten wir auf diese Weise etwa 1900 Tiere beproben und einen wertvollen Beitrag zu österreichischen Referenzdaten leisten. Weitere Informationen und Termine finden Sie ->hier. Die Seite wird laufend aktualisiert.

Darüber hinaus möchten wir auch auf die City Nature Challenge 2020 aufmerksam machen, bei der Österreich mit Wien, Graz und Wachau heuer erstmals mitmachen wird. Die Challenge findet vom 24.-27. April statt. Dabei werden die Beobachtungsdaten von Pflanzen, Tieren und Pilzen über die Plattform iNaturalist aufgenommen. Jeder kann mit dem Handy Organismen fotografieren und hochladen, die dann von ExpertInnen bestimmt werden.  Das Ziel der City Nature Challenge ist, in einem weltweiten Wettbewerb die Artenvielfalt in Städten zu dokumentieren. Eine genaue Artenkenntnis ist dabei nicht erforderlich, denn die Beobachtungen werden, so gut es geht, per Crowdsourcing (also von anderen iNaturalist-Nutzern) bestimmt. Jeder kann sich dabei sowohl als Melder als auch als Bestimmer beteiligen. Gut geeignet ist diese Challenge auch als Schulprojekt.

Dazu veranstaltet Lorin Timaeus Vorträge und einen Workshop für LehrerInnen.  Alle Termine dindet man unter https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/city-nature-challenge-2020-wien/journal; Anmeldung bis 11.03. unter cncwien@gmail.com. Anleitungen zu dem App iNaturalist findet man auf https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/city-nature-challenge-2020-wien?tab=about